Rules & Regulations

Nominee Eligibility

All awards are for work developed in Canada and released in 2013. A game that was developed in multiple countries may be nominated for the CVAs in a specific category if the majority of the game development in that relevant category was completed in Canada.  Please note: videogame upgrades, expansions and mission packs are not eligible.

Nominator Eligibility

Nominations are open to the general public. Anyone is eligible to submit a nomination; the only criteria being nominators must have an e-mail or Facebook account. The Awards organizers will vet all submissions to ensure suitability of content and validity of all nominators.

Nomination Process

During the nomination period, any eligible person may submit a nomination on the CVA web site. Please note that nominations for the same game, person or product in different categories are allowed and can be submitted all in one nomination form. You may not nominate the same game, person or product in the same category more than once – any duplicate submissions that are received will be disregarded.

Nomination Costs

The Canadian Videogame Awards have been established to celebrate excellence in Canadian videogames. There is no cost to make a nomination.

Finalist Selection Process

Upon the closure of the nomination process, five finalists in each category will be selected by the CVA Committee. Though the committee may at its discretion add nominations, the nominations submitted publicly during the open process will largely determine their selections. The winners of each of the Awards are then voted by the final voting body, comprised of the CVA Advisory Committee and a wide representation of industry experts. In the event of a tie, the final decision will be made by the CVA Advisory committee through secret ballot. For 2014 Judging Criteria click here.

Fans’ Choice Award

The Winner of the Fans’ Choice Award category will be determined by public vote.

Award Recipients

The nominee with the most votes in a category will receive that award. Each nominated product must list the development studio and publisher company names. For example: Best Game – WarMan3 (Developer X/Publisher Y). Please note that if developer or publisher names are not provided, the submission will be disqualified and replaced by another finalist.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks