Award Categories

Awards will be given in the following categories…

Note: A game may be nominated in only one (1) of the following four genre/platform categories*

Best Console Game

Best game for console hardware (Wii, Wii U, Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 3/4).

Best Downloadable Game

Best game available only through direct to customer download (excluding premium console games) such as Xbox Live, PlayStation Network, Wii Shop, Steam, Direct2Drive, PlayStation Vita, Ouya and Nintendo eShop.

Best Game on the Go

Best game on a handheld or mobile device:

  • Handheld Platforms = PSP, 3DS, DS [and variants]
  • Mobile Games = iPhone, iPad, Android, BlackBerry, any other cell phone game

Best iOS Game

Best iOS platform game available for download through the iTunes App Store.

Best Social/Casual Game

Best game across any platform in the casual or social genre.

*Under limited circumstances, a game may be nominated for more than one platform/genre category if it meets the following two conditions: 1) the version of the game nominated in one category (eg. console) is distinct from the version of the game nominated in another category (eg. handheld or mobile), and 2) each version of the game nominated was developed by a different development team. In the event a game is nominated for multiple categories, the CVA Adjudication committee will verify that each version nominated satisfies these two conditions.


Note: There are no nomination limits in the following categories

Best Animation

Recognizing the best overall in-game animation experience, showcasing originality, innovation, creativity and emotion.

Best Audio

Best audio in a game including sound effects and dialogue across all platforms.

Best Game Design

Recognizing excellence in game design across all platforms with specific attention paid to those innovative designs and superior execution that challenge traditional principles.

Best Game Innovation

Recognizing something truly extraordinary that expands the boundaries of the game industry.

Best Indie Game

Best game submission by a small independent Canadian developer
(< 50 full time equivalents), group or individual. Note: The developer must retain full creative control over the property, even if they have received financial support from a third party (publisher or otherwise). Entrants must have obtained written permission from all persons or entities having any rights to the game, as well as the necessary rights to commercially publish the game using any third party technology, if applicable.

Best New Character

This award celebrates the most indelible new character in a Canadian made videogame.

Best Original Music

Awarded to the best original music created in Canada for a videogame.

Best Technology

Recognizing excellence in graphics programming, AI, physics and networking across all platforms. All submissions are required to be an advancement in their respective field, developed in-house. Third-party Graphics and Physics engines and tools can be used, but it will be the implementation and unique aspects of the new technology that the developer built themselves that will be judged.

Best Visual Arts

Recognizing excellence in the visual art of a game, including design, art direction, modeling etc. across all platforms.

Best Writing

Best storyline, scenario or dialogue across all genres and platforms.


Game of the Year

Best Canadian-made game across all genres and platforms.

Fans’ Choice Award

The game across all genres and platforms that receives the most votes by the Canadian public for the Fans’ Choice Award.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks